ACE COMBAT 8 Controls and Difficulty: Standard vs Expert, Four Official Levels
How Standard and Expert flight controls differ in ACE COMBAT 8, the four documented difficulty levels and what each changes, and the fifth name that appears only in the achievement list.
Applies to: Flight control modes and difficulty settings in ACE COMBAT 8, checked on October 15, 2026
Quick answer
Standard mode turns your aircraft when you push the left stick left or right, which suits players used to first- or third-person games. Expert mode asks you to roll with the left stick and then pitch to turn, and it is the scheme that allows the wider range of aerial maneuvers. Difficulty is a separate setting: Rookie, Pilot, Veteran and Elite, chosen in the settings menu, and the publisher states you can change it at any time. A fifth name, ACE, appears in the game's own achievement list rather than in that announcement, so this page keeps it apart from the four documented levels instead of assuming it is one of them.

At a glance
ACE COMBAT 8 separates two settings that are easy to conflate. Your flight control mode is chosen when you load into the cockpit, and your difficulty is chosen in the settings menu. The publisher's September 18, 2026 announcement describes both, names four difficulty levels, and states that difficulty can be changed at any time. A fifth name, ACE, appears in the game's own achievement list rather than in that announcement, and this page keeps it in its own section for that reason.
The store listing separately confirms full controller support, including DualShock and DualSense controllers. That is a statement about which controllers are supported, not about which control scheme they should be mapped to.
Standard vs Expert
Both modes use the left stick to turn the aircraft, and the difference is what that stick actually commands. Standard is the direct scheme; Expert inserts a roll before the turn.
| Standard mode | Expert mode | |
|---|---|---|
| Left stick | Turns the aircraft left or right | Rolls the aircraft left or right |
| How a turn is made | Push the stick in the direction you want to go | Roll first, then pitch up or down to turn |
| Familiar to | Players used to most first- or third-person games | Players who want the aircraft's full control range |
| Stated benefit | Intuitive control | A wider range of aerial maneuvers and more precise aircraft control |
The publisher's own wording is worth reading closely, because the second row is the whole difference: Expert "enables full-scale control that requires you to roll your craft to the left or right with the left stick, then turn by pitching up and down". Under Standard you command a heading; under Expert you command the aircraft's attitude and the turn follows from it. That is why the publisher describes Expert as unlocking a wider range of aerial maneuvers — it is not simply a harder version of the same control.
Neither mode is labelled advanced, and no mode is described as locked or unlockable. The choice is presented as a preference, not as a progression step.
The four difficulty levels
Difficulty is a separate setting in the settings menu, and the announcement names four levels and describes what each is for.
| Level | Publisher's description | What it states changes |
|---|---|---|
| Rookie | Lets you focus on the story of the war as it unfolds | Separately, collision damage from the ground or structures can be reduced or switched off |
| Pilot | Recommended for players new to flying or returning after a break; the default difficulty of the game, described as a balanced challenge | Stated as the baseline — nothing extra is described |
| Veteran | Recommended for pilots who have logged many hours | Enemies may have more health or be more aggressive, depending on the mission; missile lock-on may be harder to shake; damage recovery depends heavily on your loadout |
| Elite | A high-challenge mode where split-second decisions determine victory or defeat | You are expected to understand the battlefield and prioritise targets efficiently to meet objectives and survive |
Two things in that table are more specific than difficulty menus usually are. Veteran is the only level where the publisher names mechanisms rather than a mood — enemy durability or aggression varying by mission, harder-to-shake missile locks, and damage recovery tied to your loadout. And Rookie is the only level where a separate assist is called out: the collision-damage option, which the announcement describes as something you can enable or disable in addition to picking the level.
Changing your settings later
Both settings can be revisited rather than being locked at the start of a campaign.
- Difficulty: the announcement states directly that "You can change your difficulty settings at any time."
- Control mode: the choice is offered "whenever you load into your canopy", so it is made per sortie rather than once per save file.
Because both are open, a difficulty level is not a commitment and a control mode is not a permanent handicap. The practical consequence is that a player who finds Veteran's missile behaviour unmanageable can move down without restarting, and a player who wants to try Expert can fly a single mission with it.
ACE: what the achievements show
There is a fifth difficulty name in the game, and the evidence for it comes from the game's own achievement list rather than from the announcement that describes the four levels.
An achievement named The Ace carries the description "Completed campaign mode on ACE difficulty." — a direct statement that a difficulty called ACE exists and applies to the campaign. Behind it, the published achievement data for the game contains two entries whose internal names are ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_ACE_ALL and ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_ACE_ALL_S. At the time of this check, 2.5% of players had earned the first and 1.7% the second, making them among the rarest in the list.
This page does not merge ACE into the four levels above, because the announcement that enumerates the levels does not mention it. Treating a game's internal naming as a five-level ladder would be an assumption, not a reading of the sources.
Post-stall maneuvers and High-G turns
Advanced manoeuvres are confirmed to be performable in the campaign by the same official achievement list. One achievement, Like the Wind, is described as "Successfully made a post-stall maneuver in campaign mode." and had been earned by 24.9% of players at the time of this check — a large share for a manoeuvre that sits well beyond the basics.
What the publisher has not published is a button-level explanation. The September 18 announcement covers the two control modes and the four levels, and stops there. The publisher's own walkthrough trailer is the official video coverage of the flight systems, and it is embedded below with subtitles available through YouTube in English and eleven other languages.
Because the official material stops at describing the modes, this page does not print an input sequence for a post-stall manoeuvre or a High-G turn. Anything below the level of "Expert mode is the scheme that allows the wider range of manoeuvres" would be reproduced from a third-party tutorial rather than checked, and the achievement only confirms that the manoeuvre is possible in campaign mode.
What is not confirmed
- ACE's rules and unlock condition. The difficulty is confirmed to exist by its achievement. What it alters and how it is reached are not in the publisher's announcements.
- A manufacturer list for supported manoeuvres. Third-party pages name specific aircraft for post-stall manoeuvres; no publisher statement lists them, so this page does not repeat a list as though it were official.
- Button-level inputs. No official control reference covering manoeuvre inputs was published by the date of this check.
- A fifth level in the settings menu. Whether ACE appears as a selectable option on first play, or only once some condition is met, is not stated anywhere official that this check found.
The distinction between the flight stick support situation and in-game control modes matters here: the two are frequently written about as one topic. The hardware side is a separate question from the modes described above.
Sources and review scope
- Bandai Namco Entertainment — "How to choose your difficulty in ACE COMBAT 8: WINGS OF THEVE", September 18, 2026 — source for both control modes, all four difficulty levels, the Rookie collision-damage assist, and the statement that difficulty can be changed at any time. Quoted throughout rather than paraphrased.
- Steam achievement list — ACE COMBAT 8 — source for the The Ace and Like the Wind descriptions quoted above.
- ACE COMBAT 8 — Steam announcements — the publisher's announcement feed, used to date the difficulty post and to confirm that no later post revises it.
- Steam store API — ACE COMBAT 8 app details — source for the controller support categories listed on the store page, and for the achievement total of 55.
- ACE COMBAT 8: WINGS OF THEVE | Walkthrough Trailer — official walkthrough trailer on the Bandai Namco Entertainment America channel, embedded above as the publisher's own video coverage of the flight systems.
Completion percentages for the ACE and post-stall achievements are a snapshot of the figures published on October 15, 2026 and move over time; they are not fixed values. The claim that ACE unlocks after an Elite completion is attributed to third-party guides and is not presented as confirmed. Whatever ACE changes mechanically is left open here rather than filled in from a guide site, and no control input is published that this check could not trace to an official source.
Checked on October 15, 2026 against the Steam store listing and the Steam Web API app-details endpoint for ACE COMBAT 8, the publisher's own Steam announcements, and the Steam achievements API. Requirement figures, the DRM notice and the difficulty descriptions are quoted from official sources rather than paraphrased. Where a detail comes from a third-party wiki or from a player post rather than from Bandai Namco Entertainment, it is labelled as exactly that. Anything the publisher has not stated is written as unconfirmed rather than guessed.
Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 15, 2026.





