WARDOGS Maps: What's Confirmed About Kolchia and Bakurani

The two place names the developer has published, how the 256km² map and the moving 2x2km Control Zone work, and why no map count exists in any official source.

By Game Guide PortSource reviewed:

Applies to: Every WARDOGS place name and map-scale statement in the official record, checked against 81 Steam announcements and the pinned FAQ on October 19, 2026

Quick answer

The developer has published exactly two place names: Kolchia, the war-torn region the game is set in, and Bakurani, a location whose three team spawns were rebuilt in Season 2. PV-1 is a resource the factions fight over, not a map. The map is 256km² and each match draws a randomised 2x2km Control Zone inside it, with a Hot Zone that shifts and doubles both player count and cash. No official source states how many maps WARDOGS has, lists the full set of place names, or describes per-map characteristics — 81 announcements contain no map count at all.

Official WARDOGS screenshot of two ghillie-suited soldiers observing from open grassland while a helicopter flies overhead
Official WARDOGS screenshot · © BULKHEAD · Source ↗

At a glance

WARDOGS has exactly two place names the developer has ever put in writing. Neither of them is a map count, and the developer has never published how many maps the game has. That gap is the most important thing on this page, because the search demand around WARDOGS maps assumes a list that does not exist in any official source.

Every place name the developer has published, with where it appears
NameWhat it isWhere it is stated
KolchiaThe war-torn region the game is set inOfficial Top Questions announcement, February 18, 2026
PV-1A rare resource, not a locationSame announcement — the fight is for PV-1
BakuraniA place inside Kolchia with team spawnsSeason 02 patch notes, October 14, 2026
Read the third row carefully. Bakurani is the only named location that the developer has ever described in operational terms — it has team spawns and routes to the zone. PV-1 appears in the same sentence as Kolchia and is often mistaken for a map name. It is a resource: "the fight for PV-1, a rare resource fuelling decades of Eurasian conflict".

Kolchia: the setting, described as one place

The developer's own description treats Kolchia as a single continuous setting rather than a rotation of separate maps, and it says so in a way that is worth quoting in full because so much of what is written elsewhere contradicts it:

Official description: "Set in war-torn 'Kolchia', WARDOGS centers on the fight for PV-1, a rare resource fuelling decades of Eurasian conflict. 'Kolchia' features multiple locations and POIs, offering varied, grounded militaristic gameplay."

Two things follow from that sentence, and only two. First, Kolchia contains multiple locations and POIs — so the variety people are looking for does exist inside the setting. Second, the sentence never says how many locations, and it never uses the word "maps" in the plural to describe them.

A second official description adds terrain rather than names: the game is set "in the derelict industrial mountains of Eastern Europe, on a large-scale, destructible battlefield". That is consistent with the screenshots — rail yards, container stacks, damaged apartment blocks, pylons and open grass in the same session.

Whether "multiple locations and POIs" means one very large map with districts, or several maps, is not stated. Both readings are compatible with the sentence. This page does not pick one, because picking one would be inventing an answer.

Bakurani: the one location with operational detail

Bakurani is the only named place the developer has described in terms of how it plays, and the description arrived with Season 2 as a spawn fix:

Season 2 patch notes: "New spawns and routes on Bakurani. All three team spawns have been moved and rebuilt, each with purpose-built routes to the zone, which should provide a more balanced match across each team."

The same patch notes list it a second time under the faction balance experiment — "All faction spawns have moved on Bakurani" — which confirms this was a deliberate map-level change rather than a bug fix. The stated purpose is competitive: the old spawns were producing unbalanced matches, and the new ones were built with routes designed for each team.

What is not stated: Bakurani's size, its terrain, how many control-zone positions it supports, or whether it is a sub-area of Kolchia or a separate map. The patch notes treat it as somewhere matches happen, which is all they say.

How the map actually works: the moving zone

This is the part that can be answered completely, because the developer has described the core loop in detail. The map is fixed; the fight is not.

The zone system, from the official Top Questions announcement
ElementOfficial description
Total map256km²
Active area per matchA randomised 2x2km "Control Zone"
Players and teams100 players across 3 teams
Win conditionFirst team to 100 points
Sub-zoneThe "Hot Zone" — players count double and cash is doubled

The official wording: "Inspired by 'King of the Hill', three teams fight to seize a randomised 2x2km 'Control Zone' within a large-scale 256km² map. The team with the most players in the zone earns points; first team to reach 100 points win the match. No two matches will be the same."

The practical consequence is that a 256km² map is not a 256km² playable arena in any one match. Roughly one and a half percent of the map is the objective; the rest is approach, logistics and the space between spawns and the zone. That is why "how big is the map" and "how much of it do I fight in" have different answers, and why the zone matters more than the terrain for most decisions.

The Hot Zone is described as "a shifting sub-zone within the larger 'Control Zone'" where players "count as double towards their player count" and cash is doubled. Its position changes, which is the reason a location that was safe ten minutes ago is not safe now.

What 256km² does and does not tell you

The figure is official and worth having, but it is a footprint, not a description. Some honest limits on what it means:

  • It says nothing about density. A 256km² map can be a dense urban core with empty hills around it, or evenly spread terrain. The number cannot distinguish those.
  • It says nothing about traversal time. No official statement gives a drive time, a flight time or a walk time between any two points. Anyone quoting one is estimating.
  • It does not imply a map count. A single 256km² setting and four 64km² maps would produce the same total area and completely different games. The developer has never confirmed which model applies.

The official screenshot set does support one safe observation: the terrain visibly ranges from open grass and tree lines to industrial yards and multi-storey interiors, and both rain and clear weather appear. That is visual evidence of variety, not evidence of a map count.

What has not been published

Each line below was checked against the store description, all 81 Steam announcements captured for this review, and the pinned forum FAQ, on October 19, 2026.

  • A map count. No official page states how many maps WARDOGS has. Not "one", not "several", not a number.
  • A full place-name list. Kolchia and Bakurani are the only named places. No announcement names a third.
  • Per-map characteristics. No official breakdown of size, terrain type, vehicle access or sniper sightlines by location.
  • Whether maps rotate or the zone moves within one setting. The zone system is documented; the map-selection system is not.
  • A map roadmap. Season 2 changed spawns on Bakurani and added no map. No announcement promises a new one.
On the "Europe map" you may have seen elsewhere. Some third-party guides present WARDOGS as having a map called "Europe". No official source uses that name for anything. The game is set in Eastern Europe, and the region is called Kolchia. A place name invented by a fan site is not a fact about the game, and this page does not reproduce one.

"Which map has the least snipers?" and similar questions

This is a real question with real search volume behind it, and it cannot be answered from official data. There is no published per-location breakdown of sightlines, cover density or typical engagement range, so any statement like "Bakurani has fewer snipers" would be a player's impression with a place name attached.

What can be said without inventing anything: the zone system means the answer changes per match. A 2x2km zone placed on open grass produces long sightlines; the same zone shifted onto an industrial yard produces short ones. The Hot Zone then moves the profitable ground again. So even if a location had a permanent character — which is unconfirmed — the randomised zone would partly override it.

Our advice, labelled as advice rather than data: judge the zone you get, not the map name on the loading screen. If you want fewer long-range duels, the reliable variables are the zone's terrain and whether rain is active — the patch notes state that "spotting range is affected by rain", which is one of the few officially confirmed modifiers to visibility.

No point recommendations are given here. This page has not played the build, and a "best FOB spots" list built from screenshots would be fiction. The building page explains what a FOB costs; where to put one is a decision that depends on a zone position nobody can predict.

Sources and review scope

The absence of a map count is a finding, not an oversight: 81 announcements were searched rather than skimmed, and the result is reported as a gap. No third-party guide, wiki or video was used as a source for a place name, and the page deliberately contains no world map illustration — drawing one would require inventing geography that the developer has never described.

How this guide was checked

Checked on October 19, 2026 against the Steam store listing and the Steam Web API for app 1867240, the developer's own Steam announcements including the Season 2 patch notes dated October 14, 2026, the current-player and achievement endpoints, the public review endpoint, and the four policy pages published on wardogs.com. Figures are quoted from those sources rather than paraphrased, and each one carries the date it was read. Where a detail comes from a press report, a third-party site or a player post rather than from BULKHEAD or Team17, it is labelled as exactly that. Anything the developer has not stated is written as unconfirmed rather than guessed.

Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 19, 2026.