WARDOGS Platforms: Windows Now, Consoles in 2028, Linux Not Supported
The confirmed platform list, the 2028 console window stated by the developer, the Linux and Proton position, and the 14 supported languages.
Applies to: Platform availability for WARDOGS as stated by BULKHEAD and Team17 and as listed on Steam, checked on October 19, 2026
Quick answer
WARDOGS is available on Windows only. Steam marks Mac and Linux as unsupported, and a pinned developer post states plainly that Linux is not officially supported, that Proton compatibility is still being worked on, and that there is no timeline — the post tells anyone who bought expecting Proton to refund. The developer's own FAQ states the console release is coming in 2028 without naming which consoles, and adds that controller support is "limited in the current version". The store lists 14 languages with interface and subtitle support, English with full audio, including Simplified and Traditional Chinese.

At a glance
WARDOGS is a Windows game. There is no Mac build and no Linux build, and the developer has written down why the second one is missing rather than leaving it to be inferred from a store filter.
| Platform | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Windows | Available now | Steam platform field |
| Consoles | 2028, no console named | Pinned developer FAQ |
| macOS | Not supported | Steam platform field |
| Linux / Proton | Not officially supported, compatibility in progress | Pinned developer post, updated September 25, 2026 |
| Controller | Supported but "limited in the current version" | Pinned developer FAQ |
That last row is the one most often left out of summaries, and it matters if you intended to play with a gamepad. The developer's own FAQ says controller support exists and is limited, which is a different thing from "controller supported" on a store page.
Platform list
The Steam store marks Windows as supported and Mac and Linux as unsupported. Because the game is an Early Access title with a Windows-only build, there is no crossplay question to answer yet — there is only one platform to play on.
The FAQ's own description of the game's breadth is worth reading alongside that: "up to 100 players" in "a large social sandbox" combining "grounded tactical gunplay, vehicular combat, building, large-scale destruction and a deep economy-based metagame". That is a demanding target for one platform, and the developer's stated approach was to build a custom framework rather than ship a stock engine build.
Consoles: the 2028 window
This is answered directly in the pinned developer FAQ, in the question "What platforms will WARDOGS be available on?":
— WARDOGS FAQ, pinned developer post, last edited September 10, 2026
Three things are stated and one is not. Stated: the game is being developed for PC, consoles come in 2028, and controller support is currently limited. Not stated: which consoles. The word used is "consoles", not a platform name, so any page telling you WARDOGS is confirmed for PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S is going beyond the source.
Linux, Proton and the refund advice
This is the most heavily discussed platform topic around WARDOGS, partly because a Steam community manager once said something more optimistic than the official position. The developer addressed it in a pinned forum post, and the wording is unusually explicit for a platform statement:
The same post explains why some players believed it worked: "Any previous Alpha/Beta test where Linux worked was by happen stance, which led to some users discuss the game as being Linux compatible." That is the developer distinguishing between "it launched on someone's machine" and "it is supported".
The post goes further than most platform statements by telling people to refund:
An update was appended on September 25, 2026 and it is still the latest word: "We do not have any additional information to share regarding WARDOGS Linux compatibility or timeline, other than reiterating that we hear and acknowledge the demand and it is still our desire to officially support Linux via Proton." The post also states the team will not keep issuing progress updates without definitive information to share.
Controller support
The FAQ's phrase — "Controller support is limited in the current version" — is the entire official statement on gamepads, and it is worth taking literally for two reasons.
First, it says current version, which means the limitation is a state of the build rather than a design decision, and it has not been declared permanent. Second, the game does ship controller-facing work: the Season 2 patch notes contain a dedicated "Controller Improvements and Fixes" section covering aim assist, feel and responsiveness, and a set of bind changes. Among the bind changes are "Moved 'Remove From Loadout' from R3 to Y (Hold)", "Moved 'Bribe' from Menu to X", "Moved 'Accept/Reject Squad Invite' from LB/RB to View/Menu" and "Moved Scoreboard 'Sort' from LB/RB to LT/RT".
So controller play is being actively adjusted, and it is not yet considered complete. What has not been published is any statement about when it stops being limited, or which controller features are missing. This page does not guess at either.
Languages
The Steam listing carries 14 languages with interface and subtitle support. English is the only one with full audio, which the store marks with an asterisk.
| Language | Interface & subtitles | Full audio |
|---|---|---|
| English | Yes | Yes |
| French | Yes | No |
| Italian | Yes | No |
| German | Yes | No |
| Spanish (Spain) | Yes | No |
| Japanese | Yes | No |
| Korean | Yes | No |
| Portuguese (Brazil) | Yes | No |
| Russian | Yes | No |
| Simplified Chinese | Yes | No |
| Traditional Chinese | Yes | No |
| Polish | Yes | No |
| Turkish | Yes | No |
| Ukrainian | Yes | No |
The language list is also the best public hint at where the audience sits. The developer acknowledged the Asian audience specifically in a September 12, 2026 patch announcement, stating that server capacity had been increased in the region: "We have increased the server capacity in the Asian region to support the interest coming from that region."
What has not been announced
- Which consoles. The FAQ says "consoles" and gives no platform names.
- Any console date finer than the year 2028.
- Crossplay. With one platform live there is nothing to cross-play between, and no statement describes what happens when consoles arrive.
- A Steam Deck rating. Steam Deck compatibility testing is separate from the Linux statement, and nothing in the material reviewed addresses it directly.
- Any date for Proton support to leave "in progress". The September 25 update explicitly declines to give one.
Sources and review scope
- WARDOGS FAQ — pinned developer post, Steam forum, last edited September 10, 2026 — source for the console window ("Launching on consoles in 2028"), the PC development statement and the limited controller support wording.
- "UPDATE: Linux Compatibility" — pinned developer post, last edited September 24, 2026, with an update dated September 25, 2026 — source for the official Linux position, the Proton work in progress, the community-manager communication mistake, the refund advice and the statement that no timeline exists.
- Steam store API — app details — source for the platform fields (Windows true, Mac false, Linux false) and the full 14-language list including the full-audio flag on English.
- BULKHEAD — Season 02 Patch Notes, October 14, 2026 — source for the "Controller Improvements and Fixes" section, including the aim assist changes and the bind changes quoted above.
- BULKHEAD — Scheduled Maintenance & Patch 0.11, September 12, 2026 — source for the increase in Asian server capacity.
The console statement is quoted from the pinned FAQ rather than from press coverage, because press coverage tends to name specific consoles that the developer has not. The Linux section quotes the developer's own post including its admission of a communication error, since that admission is the explanation for why conflicting claims circulate. No console manufacturer, model or date finer than 2028 appears on this page.
Checked on October 19, 2026 against the Steam store listing and the Steam Web API for app 1867240, the developer's own Steam announcements including the Season 2 patch notes dated October 14, 2026, the current-player and achievement endpoints, the public review endpoint, and the four policy pages published on wardogs.com. Figures are quoted from those sources rather than paraphrased, and each one carries the date it was read. Where a detail comes from a press report, a third-party site or a player post rather than from BULKHEAD or Team17, it is labelled as exactly that. Anything the developer has not stated is written as unconfirmed rather than guessed.
Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 19, 2026.





