How Long Is Valor Mortis? Campaign Length and Structure

One More Level calls Valor Mortis a 20-hour campaign. What that figure covers, and what has not been published about its chapters.

By Game Guide PortSource reviewed:

Applies to: Campaign length and structure as stated by the developer, checked on October 14, 2026

Quick answer

One More Level describes Valor Mortis as a 20-hour campaign, in a launch announcement that credits "way more bosses, environments and quests" for that length. That is the developer's own figure and the only one quoted here. What the 20 hours covers — the main path alone or side content included — is not stated, and no chapter names or chapter count have been published. Completion-time estimates and a required-playthrough count are not offered on this page, because a total invented by a guide site is worse than leaving the question open.

Official Valor Mortis trailer still of the player looking out over a valley from a ridge
Official Valor Mortis trailer still · © One More Level S.A. and Lyrical Games · Source ↗

The official figure

One number exists, and it is the developer's own. Two official announcements state it. In its launch announcement One More Level writes of "way more bosses, environments and quests that make up our 20-hour campaign", and a price announcement a month earlier cites "the quality, fidelity, and playtime in its 20-hour story" as the reason the game can "go toe-to-toe with many 'full price' titles".

That is the figure this page quotes, and it is the only one it quotes. Twenty hours is a developer's stated length, not a measured completion time, and the difference matters enough to keep in view: a stated length describes the experience the studio believes it has built, while a measured average describes what players actually did.

One figure, one source. Other lengths circulate online. None is official, and this page does not repeat them.

What 20 hours covers

The announcement does not define the boundaries of its own figure, and the ambiguity is worth naming rather than resolving by assumption.

What's stated, and what is not
QuestionOfficial answer
How long is the campaign?20 hours (developer's statement)
Does 20 hours include side content?Not stated
Is it a minimum or a typical playthrough?Not stated
How long does a completionist run take?Not stated
How many playthroughs are required?Not stated

The mention of "quests" alongside bosses and environments suggests the 20 hours is not a bare critical path, but that is an inference from a word, not a specification, and it is flagged as such.

Campaign structure

What has been published about structure comes indirectly, from the developer's Known Issues post, which names places in the course of describing bugs. That is a legitimate source — it is the developer writing about its own game — but it produces a list of locations, not a chapter list.

Locations named in the developer's own Known Issues post
Named in the postContext in which it appears
CavernsReferred to explicitly as "the Caverns level", with a boss at its end
Ancient LairNamed as the location of a Lantern used as a fast-travel origin
Abandoned ChurchNamed as a destination you should be returned to after a boss

Two things follow from this and one does not. It follows that levels exist as a structure, and that the game has at least one boss encountered at the end of a level. It does not follow that these three names constitute a chapter list — they are the locations that happened to be involved in reported bugs, which is a different set entirely.

Why there is no chapter list

A chapter list is the kind of thing a guide site is expected to publish, so the absence of one requires an explanation rather than silence.

The developer has used the word "chapter", numbered chapters in Roman numerals and at least one chapter title — but it has never published a count or a complete list. Three official references are on the record:

  • A demo hotfix note refers to "Chapter 1: Revival", which names Chapter I Revival.
  • A pre-release development update says the demo's two levels "are titled Chapter I and Chapter VII", which establishes that at least seven chapters exist.
  • The same update places a named boss at "the end of Chapter II" in the full game.

So the structure is real and officially numbered; what is missing is the total. Producing a full list would mean assembling one from a playthrough — either someone else's video or our own — and presenting it as a structure the game defines. Neither route is available here: this site has not played the game, and reproducing a video's chapter breakdown would be republishing someone's work under a different byline.

Note also that the demo's two levels are described by the developer as bespoke recreations of those chapters for Steam Next Fest, not as the chapters themselves — so even the official chapter numbers do not map cleanly onto what demo players saw. The demo status page covers that in more detail. Beyond the numbered chapters, "level" is the word used on this page, because that is what the developer calls Caverns — and no act structure has been described at all.

What is not published

Open questions with no official answer as of October 14, 2026
QuestionOfficial answer
Full chapter list or total countNot published — Chapter I is named "Revival" and Chapter VII is the highest referenced
Number of bossesNot published — the developer says only "way more"
Number of environmentsNot published
Number of questsNot published
Completionist or platinum lengthNot published

The phrase "way more" in the developer's own announcement is comparative and unquantified — more than what, exactly, is not stated either. It is quoted here as written rather than converted into a figure.

For what happens after the campaign ends, the roadmap page covers the New Game+ mode the developer has committed to. For how the game's systems are described, the combat and progression page stays on the same side of the line as this one.

Sources and review scope

  • Valor Mortis — Steam announcements — source for the "20-hour campaign" statement and the wording around bosses, environments and quests (launch announcement, October 13, 2026); the "20-hour story" price announcement (September 17, 2026); the reference to "Chapter 1: Revival" (demo hotfix, June 8, 2026); and the development update that names Chapter I, Chapter VII and the end of Chapter II (September 4, 2026).
  • Valor Mortis — Steam Discussions — source for the developer's Known Issues post, which names Caverns as a level and refers to the Ancient Lair and Abandoned Church.
  • Steam store listing — checked for any published campaign-length figure; none appears there.

The 20-hour figure is a developer's stated length, not a measured completion time, and is presented as such. Two chapter numbers are reported because the developer itself used them; no chapter list, no total chapter count and no completion-time estimate is offered, because none of those has an official source and producing one would require a playthrough this site has not done. Press estimates of playtime exist elsewhere and are not reproduced here, because they measure a reviewer's run rather than the studio's stated scope.

How this guide was checked

Checked on October 14, 2026 against the Steam store listing for Valor Mortis, the developer's own Steam announcements and Steam Discussions posts, the official Valor Mortis site, and the Steam Web API. Live details such as player counts, review totals and patch state change quickly and should be rechecked before you rely on them. Anything the developer has not confirmed is written as unconfirmed rather than guessed.

Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 14, 2026.