Terraria crossplay: what works now and what is coming
Check which platforms can play together today, how joining works, and the official two-phase crossplay plan.
Applies to: Cross-platform multiplayer as of October 2026
Quick answer
As of October 2026, PC, console and mobile cannot play together in Terraria. Mobile players can play with other mobile players, and console players on the same platform family can play together. Re-Logic has said crossplay arrives in two phases, with Phase One bundled into 1.4.6, but no release date has been given.

What works today
Cross-platform play between PC, console and mobile is not available as of October 12, 2026. What is available is narrower than the word “multiplayer” suggests:
| Group | Works today? | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| PC to PC | Yes | Host & Play or a dedicated server, over LAN or the internet. |
| Mobile to mobile | Yes | Android and iOS versions connect to each other through the in-game multiplayer menu. |
| Console to same console family | Yes | Uses the platform’s own online service, so accounts and subscriptions apply. |
| Console to console across brands | No | Xbox, PlayStation and Switch do not connect to each other. |
| PC to console or mobile | No | Different code branches and different network layers. |
If you and a friend own the game on different platforms, you cannot currently play the same world together. That is the exact gap the crossplay update is meant to close.
The two official phases
Re-Logic has described crossplay as two separate pieces of work rather than one switch.
| Phase | What it adds | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Phase One | Console players get local network play plus direct connections by IP address and port. | Bundled into 1.4.6. Described as in final testing and headed for platform certification. No date. |
| Phase Two | A join-code system that works across different networks without the host configuring their router. | Announced as the follow-up step. No date. |
Note what Phase One does and does not do. Direct IP connection assumes somebody already knows how to expose a server — useful for players who already port-forward, less useful for a casual group. The friction-free version is Phase Two.
How to join a game now
While crossplay is pending, the joining route depends on the platform you own.
- PC. Either host through Multiplayer → Host & Play, or run a dedicated server and share the address. Full steps, including port forwarding, are on the multiplayer troubleshooting page.
- Mobile. Use the multiplayer menu to host or join; mobile players can only be joined by other mobile players.
- Console. Host a world through the platform’s online service. Friends on the same console family can join; nobody else can.
If a connection fails, the cause is almost always network-side rather than a missing feature. Work through the joining checklist before assuming crossplay has arrived.
What is not confirmed
- Whether Phase One includes PC-to-console play. The posted description talks about console local network play and direct IP connections. It does not spell out which platform combinations become possible on day one.
- Whether mobile is in Phase One. Mobile has not been named in the Phase One description.
- A release date for 1.4.6. Nothing official has been given.
- Whether an account or login will be required. Not stated.
- Whether existing worlds transfer. Not stated.
Sources and review scope
- Official Terraria forum — “Terraria 1.4.5.8 Out Now” — used to confirm the current platform builds and the pointer to 1.4.6.
- Official Terraria wiki — Multiplayer — used for how joining works per platform. Community-maintained, not an official Re-Logic publication.
- Steam store listing — used for the supported platform list.
The two-phase description and the “no date” position come from Re-Logic’s September 24, 2026 state-of-the-game post. Anything not covered there is listed as unconfirmed above rather than estimated.
Checked against linked Re-Logic announcements, the official Terraria wiki and store listings on October 12, 2026. Dynamic details should be rechecked before publication.
Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 12, 2026.





