ACE COMBAT 8 PC Graphics Options: DLSS, XeSS and FOV Status
What the store listing does not say about DLSS, FSR, XeSS and frame generation, plus player reports on FOV, ultrawide HUD and shader compilation.
Applies to: Published graphics-feature information and player-reported performance observations for ACE COMBAT 8 on PC, checked on October 15, 2026
Quick answer
The publisher has not stated whether ACE COMBAT 8 supports DLSS, FSR, XeSS or frame generation: none of those four names appears anywhere on the Steam listing, and the listing carries no graphics-feature list at all, so that is an absence of a statement rather than a statement that the features are missing. What is confirmed is that both requirement tiers call for a graphics card with hardware ray tracing support and DirectX 12 with Shader Model 6.6 or higher, and that both published frame-rate targets are stated "with upscaling", without naming which upscaler they assume. Beyond that, everything in circulation is player-reported: FSR feeling steadier than DLSS on some setups, an Intel Arc owner unable to find an XeSS setting, shader compilation running over 30 minutes at launch, and a thread titled "No FOV slider = refunded.", which reports an absent setting rather than confirming one.

At a glance
The honest answer to "does it support DLSS / FSR / XeSS / frame generation" is that the publisher has not said. The Steam listing for ACE COMBAT 8 names none of them — not in the feature list, not in the requirements panel, not in the DRM notice — as checked on October 15, 2026. The listing does not carry a graphics-feature list at all, so that is an absence of a statement rather than a statement that a feature is missing, and this page does not turn it into either one.
What the publisher does confirm is narrower and more concrete: a graphics card with hardware ray tracing support and DirectX 12 with Shader Model 6.6 or higher in both requirement tiers, and two performance targets that are both stated with upscaling switched on — without naming which upscaler.
The rest of what is known comes from players: that FSR has been steadier than DLSS for some, that one player could not find an XeSS setting at all, that shader compilation has taken over 30 minutes at launch for some, and that there is no field-of-view slider to be found. All of that is labelled as player reports below and none of it has been verified here.
What the store listing does not list
Graphics feature support in this game is usually discussed through four acronyms. None of them appears in the listing.
- DLSS — not named anywhere on the listing.
- FSR — not named anywhere on the listing.
- XeSS — not named anywhere on the listing.
- Frame generation — not named anywhere on the listing.
This is the difference between a status page and an optimisation guide. There is no official feature matrix to reproduce here, so the page reproduces the absence instead of filling it in from a settings screenshot somebody else took.
What the publisher does confirm
Two pieces of published information do describe the graphics side, and both come from the requirements panel rather than from a feature list.
| Requirement | What it states | What it does not state |
|---|---|---|
| Hardware ray tracing | A graphics card with hardware ray tracing support is required, in the minimum tier as well as the recommended one | Which ray-traced effects are used, or whether they can be turned down |
| DirectX 12, Shader Model 6.6 | DirectX 12 with Shader Model 6.6 or higher is required in both tiers | Anything about what this enables at the settings level |
| Estimated performance | 1920x1080 with upscaling, at 30 fps on Low and 60 fps on Medium | Which upscaling method the figures assume — the word "upscaling" is as specific as it gets |
| Frame-rate caveat | The listing notes that the frame rate may drop in graphics-intensive scenes | Which scenes, or by how much |
The upscaling point is the one worth keeping. Both published targets assume an upscaler is active, which is the publisher telling you that its own frame-rate figures are not native-resolution figures — but it stops short of naming DLSS, FSR or XeSS, so the targets cannot be read as support for any particular one of them. The full requirement tiers, including the 150 GB SSD figure, are on the PC system requirements page.
Field of view and ultrawide
The publisher has published no list of display or graphics options, so what the settings menu contains is not something this page can state. Two player threads are the only available signal, and both point at the same area.
| Thread title as posted | What it concerns | Evidence level |
|---|---|---|
| No FOV slider = refunded. | A player reporting that a field-of-view slider could not be found, and refunding over it | Player report — one player's experience, not a confirmation of what the menu contains |
| Ultrawide HUD support please? | A request for the heads-up display to handle ultrawide resolutions properly | Player report — a request rather than a finding, and it does not say the HUD is unusable |
Read together, the two threads say that some players wanted display-level control the game did not appear to offer them. They do not establish that no such option exists, and they say nothing about whether ultrawide screens are supported at all — only that a player wanted the HUD handled differently. The publisher has made no statement about field of view or ultrawide resolutions.
Player reports: upscalers and shader compilation
The rest of what circulates is player-reported. These are the claims, and they are kept in a table so the evidence level travels with each one.
| Report | Where it comes from | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| FSR felt steadier than DLSS | A player thread about instability, reporting a swap between the two upscalers | Nothing about image quality, and nothing about your hardware — this is one machine |
| No XeSS setting could be found | A player running an Intel Arc graphics card, posting in the same thread | Whether XeSS is unsupported, hidden, or simply missed — the publisher has said nothing about XeSS at all |
| Shader compilation taking over 30 minutes at launch | A thread whose title reports the time and carries a "[Fixed]" tag added by the author | What caused it, whether it affected everyone, or what the tag refers to — the publisher has never commented on shader compilation time |
| A launch parameter to disable async compute | A player thread about crashes, where it was posted as something that helped | Anything about the mechanism, and whether async compute is even exposed by the game |
The crash thread that produced the async compute report is covered on the crash and error code page, which handles the crash side of that thread and keeps the reported steps there. A long first load is a loading-time symptom rather than an error, which is why the observation sits on this page instead.
The only official items that touch performance
Two published notices relate to PC performance at all. The Product Notice of September 29, 2026 asks players to use the recommended graphics driver and to make sure Windows virtual memory is enabled; the update notice of October 9, 2026 says an update is in preparation covering reported problems and gameplay adjustments, with no contents list and no date.
Neither notice mentions a graphics setting, an upscaler, a frame-rate issue or shader compilation. They are included here only so that the official record is complete on this page — the checks themselves are set out in full, with what they do and do not cover, on the crash and error code page, and are not repeated here.
What is not published
- Whether DLSS, XeSS or frame generation are planned. The publisher has made no statement in either direction.
- Which upscaler the published performance targets assume. The listing says "with upscaling" and names nothing.
- The contents of the graphics settings menu. No official options list has been published.
- Whether field of view or ultrawide support will be added. No publisher statement exists on either.
- An explanation for long shader compilation. Player reports describe it; the publisher has not addressed it.
This page will need revisiting if the publisher publishes graphics features, adds display options, or ships the announced update with performance changes in it. Until then, the absence above is the finding, and inventing a feature list would be the one thing this page could do to make itself useless.
Sources and review scope
- Steam store API — ACE COMBAT 8 app details — the source for the negative finding this page is built on: the requirement tiers in full, the hardware ray tracing and DirectX 12 Shader Model 6.6 requirements, the two "with upscaling" performance targets, the frame-rate caveat, and the absence of DLSS, FSR, XeSS or frame generation from the listing. Also used to confirm that the store data carries no graphics-feature field at all.
- Steam store listing — the rendered listing, checked on October 15, 2026, to confirm that no graphics feature names appear in the visible page either.
- Bandai Namco Entertainment — Product Notice, September 29, 2026 — source for the recommended graphics driver and virtual memory items, listed here as the only published items that touch performance.
- Bandai Namco Entertainment — update notice, October 9, 2026 — source for the statement that an update covering reported problems is in preparation without a date or contents list.
- Steam Discussions — ACE COMBAT 8 — the board behind every player report on this page: "No FOV slider = refunded.", "Ultrawide HUD support please?", the shader compilation thread carrying a "[Fixed]" tag, the upscaler and Intel Arc reports, and the thread that produced the async compute launch parameter. These are player posts, not publisher statements, and none was tested by this page.
- PCGamingWiki — ACE COMBAT 8 — third-party wiki, checked for any graphics feature listing. Its presence is noted for completeness; it is not a publisher source and is not used here for any feature claim.
Checked on October 15, 2026. This is a status page rather than an optimisation guide: the central finding is a documented absence, and the absence is quoted as an absence rather than converted into a claim about support. Everything the publisher does state about graphics — ray tracing, Shader Model 6.6, the upscaling assumption in the frame-rate targets and the frame-rate caveat — is reproduced from the store listing and tied to it. Every graphics setting, upscaler behaviour and load-time figure beyond that is a player report, labelled where it appears, untested here, and not passed on as advice. Crash triage and the official crash checks are deliberately left to their own page, and the two notices above appear only as a note that nothing further official exists on the performance side.
Checked on October 15, 2026 against the Steam store listing and the Steam Web API app-details endpoint for ACE COMBAT 8, the publisher's own Steam announcements, and the Steam achievements API. Requirement figures, the DRM notice and the difficulty descriptions are quoted from official sources rather than paraphrased. Where a detail comes from a third-party wiki or from a player post rather than from Bandai Namco Entertainment, it is labelled as exactly that. Anything the publisher has not stated is written as unconfirmed rather than guessed.
Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 15, 2026.





