Dressmaker Languages: English, Simplified Chinese and Japanese Only

Dressmaker ships in three languages, each with interface, full audio and subtitles. No fourth language is announced, and the Portuguese and Spanish requests have no official answer.

By Game Guide PortSource reviewed:

Applies to: The languages Dressmaker supports, taken from the store language panel and the store API on October 19, 2026, together with the developer's announcements and the public requests for other languages on the Steam discussions

Quick answer

Dressmaker supports three languages: English, Simplified Chinese and Japanese. All three have interface text, full audio and subtitles, which the store panel shows as nine ticks across a three-by-three grid and which the store API confirms in a single field marking every language as having full audio support. There is no Traditional Chinese row and no partial row. No fourth language has been announced, and no announcement describes adding one after release, even though the release-day roadmap lists other planned features. Threads asking for Brazilian Portuguese and Spanish exist on the Steam discussions; none of the ones I read contains a developer reply, and a request is not a plan.

Detail crop of an official Dressmaker screenshot showing the English interface text on the commission brief screen: a card headed Floral Romance, a Requirements list reading Quality 80, Eveningwear 40, Romantic 60, Flowers 60 and Budget 750, and a column of style tags
Official Dressmaker screenshot, cropped · © Cozy Lives · Source ↗

At a glance

Dressmaker ships in three languages: English, Simplified Chinese and Japanese. Each of the three has the full set — interface text, full audio and subtitles — which is unusual enough to be worth stating plainly, because most games at this price point voice one language and subtitle the rest.

There is no fourth language, and nothing in the official record says one is coming. Requests for Spanish and Portuguese exist on the Steam discussions; the developer has not answered them, in those threads or anywhere else that I could find. If language support is part of whether you buy at all, the price page sets out what $14.99 includes and confirms there is no demo to try first.

One note on the screenshot at the top of this page: it shows the commission brief screen with its English interface text, because English is the only language any official screenshot has ever been published in. That is a fact about the marketing material, not about the game — the store panel above, not the screenshots, is the evidence for what ships.

The three languages, as listed in the store's own language panel
LanguageWhat is provided
EnglishInterface, full audio, subtitles
Simplified ChineseInterface, full audio, subtitles
JapaneseInterface, full audio, subtitles

Note what is absent from that table as well as what is in it. There is no Traditional Chinese row, which is a distinction the store panel makes elsewhere and does not make here. There is no partial row — no language with subtitles but no audio, or interface but no subtitles. All three are complete, and there are exactly three.

The two sources, and why they agree

Steam exposes language support in two places, and for this game they can be checked against each other. The store API returns a single string per app:

"English*, Simplified Chinese*, Japanese*
*languages with full audio support"
— Steam store API, appdetails for app 4019220, read October 19, 2026

The rendered store page presents the same data as a grid. Collapsed, it reads "English and 2 more"; expanded, it shows three rows against columns headed Interface, Full Audio and Subtitles, with a tick in all nine cells. Two independent renderings of one underlying field, agreeing cell for cell — which is the sort of confirmation that makes a small claim safe to state flatly.

It also tells you how the asterisk in the API string is meant to be read. The API marks all three languages and defines the marker as full audio support, so the distinction it draws is not between languages but between this game and games that ship text-only localisations. There is no asterisk-free row here because there is no text-only language here.

What "full audio" means in practice

Full audio support means the game has a voice track in that language, not merely translated menus. In a game built almost entirely around conversations with customers, that is a substantial piece of work, and it says something about how the developer prioritised localisation: rather than shipping text in many languages and voice in one, they shipped voice in three.

The record supports this from a second direction. In a Steam post published October 1, 2026, the developer introduces the team and notes that Sabrina, the dressmaker whose knowledge shaped the game's garment systems, "voices our current trailer". The store trailer itself carries spoken customer dialogue — the first line is a customer announcing a ball at the duke's mansion and naming her budget. None of that establishes how many lines in the finished game are voiced, and nothing official states a proportion. What it establishes is that voice acting exists and is treated as part of the product rather than an afterthought.

Nothing published says how much of the game is voiced. "Full audio support" describes which languages have audio, not how many lines were recorded. A page claiming a specific number of voiced lines, or that every villager is voiced throughout, is going beyond the source.

No fourth language, and what the requests look like

Across the store page, ten official announcements and three patch notes, no language other than these three is mentioned. No announcement describes adding a language after release, which suggests the three are the launch set rather than a first wave. No roadmap item mentions localisation at all, even though the same roadmap lists an online challenge mode, transparent fabrics, controller support and console ports — a list detailed enough that a planned translation would plausibly have appeared on it.

The demand is visible anyway. A thread titled "Portuguese translation" opens with this:

"Ouvi falar muito bem do jogo, mas antes de comprar preciso da tradução em português (brasileiro). E não sou apenas eu, mas uma nação inteira está no aguardo :)"
— NelsonF, Steam discussions, October 5, 2026. Translation: "I've heard very good things about the game, but before buying I need a Portuguese (Brazilian) translation. And it isn't just me — an entire nation is waiting."

The thread collected three replies over the following fortnight: a "+1", a player saying they need a Brazilian Portuguese version "to introduce my mother to gaming", and a link to a community-made localisation mod. No developer reply appears in the thread. A second thread on the same board asks about Spanish; it is the same shape of request.

Fan translations are worth distinguishing from official support and then setting aside. A community mod can put Portuguese text on screen, and if you want one, that is a mod — outside the scope of these pages, which cover what the developer has published. What it does not do is change the store's language list, and it will not give you Portuguese audio.

Two things are worth separating here, because they get conflated constantly in comment threads. A request is evidence that people want something. It is not evidence that it is planned, and the absence of a developer reply is not a refusal either. The honest state of play is that three languages exist, none has been added since release, and nobody official has said whether that will change.

What the record does not cover

Small as this topic looks, several practical questions have no published answer, and they are the ones a player actually hits:

Language questions with no published answer
QuestionStatus
Is there a language switch inside the game?Not documented. No store text or patch note describes a settings menu or a language selector.
Does the game follow the Steam client language?Not documented. It is the common behaviour for Steam titles, but nothing official states it for this one.
How much dialogue is voiced?Not stated. "Full audio support" is a category, not a quantity.
Will the Switch and mobile ports add languages?Not stated. The ports themselves have no date, let alone a language plan.
Is the free itch.io prototype localised?Not addressed by the developer, and it is a separate build from the commercial game.

If your language is one of the three, none of this affects you and the practical answer is the first table on this page. If it is not, the practical answer is that there is no official option to point you at, and the alternatives that exist are community work rather than developer work.

One last framing note, because it changes how you read the store listing. Steam collapses the panel to "English and 2 more" until you expand it. If you are filtering the store by language and Dressmaker does not appear, that is the filter working as designed rather than an error — the game supports three languages, and whichever one you filtered for is not among them.

Sources and review scope

Language support is the one claim on this site that can be checked entirely against a machine-readable field, so it is stated without hedging: three languages, all three complete, nothing else announced. The absence of further languages is based on reading the store page, all ten official announcements and all three patch notes; the absence of an official response to the requests is based on reading the threads themselves, where replies are visible and none carries a developer tag. No build was launched to test a language setting, which is why the question of an in-game switch is left open above rather than answered.

How this guide was checked

Checked on October 19, 2026 against the Steam store listing and the Steam Web API for app 4019220, the developer's own Steam announcements, the official press kit at freelives.net and the itch.io prototype page. Patch notes are quoted verbatim rather than summarised, and each quotation carries the build number and the date it was published. Player reports come from public Steam discussion threads and are labelled as player reports wherever they appear; they are never presented as developer statements, and they are never used to fill a gap the developer left open. Where a detail has not been published, the page says so instead of estimating it. No part of this game was played to produce this page.

Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 19, 2026.