WARDOGS System Requirements and Engine: Full Official Specs

The complete minimum and recommended specs from Steam, including the Windows 10 floor, the 50 GB figure and the upscaling assumption, plus the engine the developer actually uses.

By Game Guide PortSource reviewed:

Applies to: The WARDOGS PC system requirements published on the Steam store and the engine description given by the developer, checked on October 19, 2026

Quick answer

Minimum is Windows 10, a Core i5-8600 or Ryzen 5 3500, 16 GB of RAM, a GTX 1660 or RX 590 and 50 GB of space, targeting 1080p on Low at 60 fps upscaled. Recommended is Windows 11, a Core i7-12700k or Ryzen 7 5700x, 16 GB of RAM and an RTX 3070 or RX 6700 XT, targeting 1440p Medium at 70 fps or better native, or 4K Medium at 60 fps upscaled. Both tiers require a broadband internet connection. The engine is the developer's own WAR DYNAMICS FRAMEWORK, described by BULKHEAD as a custom layer that enhances Unreal Engine 5 to handle 100-player matches — it is not a stock UE5 build.

Official WARDOGS screenshot of a soldier dragging a wounded teammate to cover in front of a main battle tank
Official WARDOGS screenshot · © BULKHEAD · Source ↗

At a glance

Two details in the published requirements are easy to skim past, and both change what kind of machine you need.

First, the minimum tier lists Windows 10 and the recommended tier lists Windows 11. Windows 10 is not disqualified — it is the stated floor. Second, system memory is 16 GB in both tiers. There is no 32 GB recommended figure to aim at, and the storage figure is identical in both columns at 50 GB. What separates the two tiers is the processor and the graphics card, almost entirely.

WARDOGS PC requirements, quoted from the Steam store listing, checked October 19, 2026
MinimumRecommended
Operating systemWindows 10Windows 11
ProcessorIntel Core i5-8600 / AMD Ryzen 5 3500Intel Core i7-12700k / AMD Ryzen 7 5700x
Memory16 GB RAM16 GB RAM
GraphicsNvidia GTX 1660 / Radeon RX 590Nvidia RTX 3070 / Radeon RX 6700 XT
NetworkBroadband internet connectionBroadband internet connection
Storage50 GB available space50 GB available space
Additional notes1080p Low @ 60fps (Upscaled)1440p Medium @ 70fps+ (Native) or 4K Medium @ 60fps+ (Upscaled)
64-bitRequired for both — "Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system"

Minimum

The minimum tier pairs a 2018-era six-core processor with a 2019-era graphics card and attaches a specific, testable target to them: 1080p on the Low preset at 60 fps, with upscaling on.

Read that target carefully, because two words in it do a lot of work. "Low" means the settings are not the ones you would choose voluntarily, and "upscaled" means the internal render resolution is lower than 1080p even though the output is 1080p. A machine that meets this tier exactly is being described as capable of a reduced-fidelity 60 fps, not of the experience in the trailers.

The GTX 1660 and RX 590 are both 2019 cards with 6 GB and 8 GB of VRAM respectively, and both sit well below the recommended tier. If you are upgrading from an older build, this is the tier to check against first: a GTX 1060, an RX 580 or a four-core processor from before 2018 falls outside what the developer has published, and no statement in the store listing suggests otherwise.

Windows 10 is listed, and that is not an oversight. The minimum tier names Windows 10 explicitly while the recommended tier names Windows 11. Since the game is Windows-only and has no console fallback, this tier is the one that tells a Windows 10 user they are still inside the supported range. It is worth knowing because the platform discussion around this game — Linux, Proton, consoles — is loud enough that the Windows 10 question gets lost.

Recommended raises the processor by several generations and roughly doubles the graphics card, but leaves memory and storage untouched: a Core i7-12700k or Ryzen 7 5700x, 16 GB of RAM, an RTX 3070 or RX 6700 XT, and the same 50 GB.

What it does not leave untouched is the definition of the target. Recommended is stated twice, as two alternatives:

  • 1440p on Medium at 70 fps or better, native — no upscaling.
  • 4K on Medium at 60 fps or better, upscaled — a 4K output with a lower internal resolution.

This is a more useful recommended tier than most, because it tells you the shape of the trade. A 3070-class card at 1440p native clears 70 fps on Medium; the same card at 4K relies on upscaling to hold 60. Neither option promises High or Ultra settings, and the store page makes no claim about either.

The 16 GB figure in both tiers is worth stating plainly because a lot of requirement tables online list 32 GB for this game. The store page does not. If you have 16 GB and a recommended-tier card, you match the published recommended specification exactly.

The engine: WAR DYNAMICS FRAMEWORK

The engine is not Unreal Engine 5 in the sense that phrase is usually used. BULKHEAD's own description, from the Top Questions announcement, is that the game runs on a custom framework:

"Our custom 'WAR DYNAMICS FRAMEWORK' enhances UE5 to handle high-density 100-player All Out Warfare! As avid FPS fans ourselves, we're heavily conscious of performance & input latency being a major factor in the feel of the game."

So the relationship is real but specific: Unreal Engine 5 is the base, and the framework is the developer's own layer on top, built for the player density and latency constraints of a 100-player match. The distinction matters for two practical reasons.

First, graphics feature lists do not transfer automatically. Whether the game supports a given upscaler or a given frame-generation technology is a question about the framework, not about UE5, and BULKHEAD has not published a statement on either. This page does not list them. Second, performance discussions based on other UE5 games do not apply. A game shipping a stock UE5 build and a game shipping a custom framework over UE5 have different bottlenecks, which is why the published frame-rate targets are attached to specific presets rather than to a general "runs well on UE5".

On crash reports. The early patch history includes GPU crash work — patch 0.11 lists "More GPU crashes addressed", and the same period contains fixes for crashes involving buildables, network calls scheduled off the game thread, and a legacy graphics dependency. That is normal for an Early Access launch and is not evidence that the game is unstable now. It does mean that a graphics-related issue you experienced in the first week of September 2026 may already be fixed, so check your build before troubleshooting.

Storage and the network requirement

Storage is 50 GB in both tiers, and the listing does not split it into download size and installed size. Treat 50 GB as the installed figure, which means leaving headroom for the download, the patch history and temporary files rather than filling a drive to exactly 50 GB.

No SSD requirement is stated. That is a genuine difference from games that list an SSD in the minimum tier — the WARDOGS listing does not, in either column. It also does not say a mechanical drive is fine; it says nothing, and this page does not convert silence into a recommendation either way.

Broadband internet is required in both tiers, which is worth flagging because it is listed as a requirement rather than a recommendation. WARDOGS is an online-only game — three teams, up to 100 players, servers you connect to, and a persistent cash balance tied to your account. There is no offline mode in anything the developer has published, and the requirement field is the store's way of saying so.

Two later changes bear on the connection side rather than the hardware side. Since Season 2, official servers enforce region-based ping limits, and players who sustain an over-limit connection are automatically kicked and cannot rejoin that server until the next map transition. Community server admins can set their own limits. Separately, the developer increased server capacity in the Asian region in September 2026. Neither of those is a system requirement, but both change what a "good enough" connection means in practice.

What the listing does not state

  • An SSD requirement. Not in either tier.
  • A second storage figure. 50 GB appears once per tier with no download-size equivalent.
  • Any upscaling technology by name. The targets say "upscaled" without saying DLSS, FSR or XeSS.
  • Frame rates at High or Ultra settings. Both published targets are at Low or Medium.
  • A VRAM requirement stated as a figure. The cards are named; their memory is not.
  • Ray tracing support. Nothing in the listing mentions it.
  • An offline or single-player mode. Nothing published describes one.

Because those items are unpublished, this page does not estimate them. There are no frame-rate predictions here for any specific machine, no "this GPU should get about X fps" figures, and no settings recommendations — nobody on this site has run the game to produce them, and inferring performance from a card's tier is how requirement pages end up being wrong in a way that costs readers money.

Sources and review scope

The requirements are reproduced word for word, including the mixed capitalisation of "i7-12700k" and the use of "@" in the performance notes. Nothing has been rounded, converted or filled in. No frame rate is predicted for any hardware configuration, and no settings guide is offered, because this site did not run the game on any of the listed configurations.

How this guide was checked

Checked on October 19, 2026 against the Steam store listing and the Steam Web API for app 1867240, the developer's own Steam announcements including the Season 2 patch notes dated October 14, 2026, the current-player and achievement endpoints, the public review endpoint, and the four policy pages published on wardogs.com. Figures are quoted from those sources rather than paraphrased, and each one carries the date it was read. Where a detail comes from a press report, a third-party site or a player post rather than from BULKHEAD or Team17, it is labelled as exactly that. Anything the developer has not stated is written as unconfirmed rather than guessed.

Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 19, 2026.