ACE COMBAT 8 Mission 25: What the Two Branches Are

Mission 25 in ACE COMBAT 8 has two separate clear achievements, the strongest evidence of a branch. What is confirmed, and what only guides claim.

By Game Guide PortSource reviewed:

Applies to: What can be established about Mission 25 in ACE COMBAT 8 from official data, and what rests on third-party guides, checked on October 15, 2026

Quick answer

Mission 25 in ACE COMBAT 8 has two mission-clear achievements — ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_025_1 and ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_025_2 — and no single entry for the number, which is the strongest evidence that the mission ends in one of two mutually exclusive ways. They sit at 54.2% and 53.0% of players, both above the 48.2% recorded for clearing the campaign. The publisher has never described the mission, and every account of the choice itself, the objective order and the aircraft to bring comes from third-party guides that contradict one another, so this page states the shape and marks the rest as unverified.

Official ACE COMBAT 8 trailer still of an F/A-18 formation banking through cloud
Official ACE COMBAT 8 trailer still · © Bandai Namco Entertainment Inc. · Source ↗

At a glance

Mission 25 in ACE COMBAT 8 has two mission-clear achievements and no single one for the number: the published achievement data contains ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_025_1 and ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_025_2, while every other mission number in the campaign corresponds to exactly one clear entry. That is the strongest evidence available that the mission ends in one of two ways, and it comes from the game's own data rather than from a guide.

The two entries sit at 54.2% and 53.0% of players at the time of this check, both above the 48.2% recorded for clearing the campaign as a whole. Two near-equal figures for one mission is what you would expect if one decision splits the mission late, rather than two alternate missions with different audiences.

Everything beyond that shape — the choice itself, the objective order, the aircraft to bring — comes from third-party walkthroughs and player posts, not from Bandai Namco Entertainment. The publisher has never described this mission. This page therefore sets out what is established, records what guides claim and marks it as guide material, and explains why it does not print a step-by-step route.

What the achievement list establishes

Three entries in the game's achievement data are what this page is built on. They were read from Steam's public achievement API and the community achievements page on October 15, 2026.

Achievement entries relevant to Mission 25, Steam achievement data for ACE COMBAT 8, checked October 15, 2026
EntryShare of playersWhat it supports
ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_025_154.2%One way for the mission to end
ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_025_253.0%A second, separate way for the same mission to end
ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_ALL48.2%Both cannot be earned on a single campaign path, since each sits above the figure for finishing the campaign

The reasoning is narrow on purpose. Two entries sharing a number means the game distinguishes two outcomes and tracks which one a player reached. It does not follow that the mission contains a menu prompt, that one outcome is better, that either is missable in the sense of being unrecoverable, or that the choice carries into later missions. None of those is visible in the data, and the publisher has published nothing about the mission at all — there is no announcement, no store text and no publisher guide chapter covering it.

Reading 54% against 53%

The two figures are close enough to be worth dwelling on, because the arithmetic says something the individual numbers do not.

  • Both exceed the campaign figure. Clearing the campaign sits at 48.2%. If a player had to reach Mission 25 to be offered the choice, and had to finish the campaign afterwards to be counted at 48.2%, then roughly 54% reaching the branch and about 49% finishing means a small share of players take the branch and then stop.
  • They cannot both come from one clear. A single completion awards one of the two. The near-equal percentages therefore describe a roughly even split, which is what a one-time decision with two options looks like when it is offered to everyone.
  • The gap of about one point is not a difficulty signal. Nothing in the data says which branch is harder, which is better rewarded, or whether either can be revisited without a fresh campaign run.
These percentages are a snapshot. They were read on October 15, 2026 from Steam's published achievement data and they move as the player base changes. They measure who reached a branch, not how the branch plays — no conclusion about Mission 25's difficulty, length or rewards can be drawn from them.

What third-party guides describe

Mission 25 is covered by a number of third-party walkthrough sites, and their descriptions agree on the general shape while differing on detail. What follows is what those guides collectively claim, recorded as guide material rather than as fact — third-party guides describe the following, and this is not an official walkthrough.

  • The branch is a decision partway through the mission. Guides describe an in-mission choice rather than a menu set before launch, which is consistent with the two near-equal achievement shares described above.
  • Each outcome is associated with its own encounter. Guides describe the two paths as ending in different opposition rather than the same fight with a different objective.
  • A mission-specific medal is associated with one path. Guides report a named medal tied to one of the two outcomes, which is the kind of claim no publisher material supports or contradicts.
  • Guides disagree on which choice leads where. The mapping between the choice and the outcome is not consistent across the sources checked, which is the main reason this page does not reproduce it.

Player posts on the game's Steam discussions show the same uncertainty from the other direction: threads exist asking whether the campaign contains branches and suspecting cut content, which is a demand signal rather than evidence. Neither the guides nor the posts are treated here as a source of confirmed detail.

Why there is no step-by-step route here

A page titled for a mission that does not print a route owes an explanation, and the honest one is a sourcing limit rather than a policy.

  • The publisher has documented nothing about this mission. No announcement, patch note, store description or achievement text describes its objectives, its targets or its decision point.
  • The available detail is third-party and mutually inconsistent. Objective sequences, trigger conditions and aircraft recommendations appear on guide sites, and where the sources checked disagree, printing one version would present a coin flip as a fact.
  • Nothing here was played. This page is written from published sources, not from a run through the mission, so an objective order reproduced from a guide site could not be checked before publishing it.
  • The part that can be stated firmly is the shape. Two outcomes, mutually exclusive per run, each recorded by its own achievement — that is traceable to the game's own data and is what this page commits to.

If the publisher later documents the mission, or if the branch condition can be evidenced from the game itself rather than from guide copy, this page is the one that should change first. It is the pilot for how single-mission pages on this site are handled, and its standard is that a claim arrives with its source attached or does not arrive.

Still unconfirmed

  • The trigger. What causes the mission to resolve one way rather than the other is not published, and the guide descriptions checked do not agree.
  • The content of each outcome. What the player faces on either path, and how the two differ, rests entirely on guide sites.
  • Whether the choice carries forward. The achievement data shows nothing about later missions reacting to the outcome, and no publisher statement addresses it.
  • The medal condition. The reported mission medal is a guide-site claim; no official condition for it was found.
  • Whether both outcomes can be seen in one save. Whether the branch is re-selectable through free mission replay after the campaign is not stated anywhere this check located.

The mission's place in the campaign as a whole — the count, the numbering and how the branch shows up against the other 29 missions — is covered on the missions and length page. What happens after the campaign, including replay structure and grading, is on the post-game page.

Sources and review scope

  • Steam Web API — global achievement percentages for app 2288340 — source for ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_025_1, ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_025_2 and ACH_CLEAR_MISSION_ALL, and for every percentage on this page. Developer-supplied data published by Valve; not a publisher statement.
  • Steam achievements page — ACE COMBAT 8 — used to confirm that no plain Mission 25 entry sits alongside the two that exist, and to read the achievement descriptions. Snapshot October 15, 2026.
  • ACE COMBAT 8 — Steam announcements — the publisher's announcement feed, checked to confirm that no post describes Mission 25, its objectives or its branch.
  • Steam Discussions — ACE COMBAT 8 — used only as evidence that branching is a live player question. Posts are player reports and are not a source for any detail about the mission.
  • Third-party walkthrough sites. Their descriptions are summarised above and marked as third-party, and their specific claims — the trigger, the encounters, the medal and which choice leads where — are deliberately not reproduced or linked, because the sources checked contradict one another and none of them could be verified against the game.

What is presented as established here comes from one official dataset and is limited to the existence of two mutually exclusive outcomes for Mission 25 and the shares of players who reached each. Every account of what happens inside the mission is attributed to third-party guides or player posts and is labelled as such, and no objective sequence, target list or aircraft recommendation is printed. Percentages are a snapshot of October 15, 2026 and move over time.

How this guide was checked

Checked on October 15, 2026 against the Steam store listing and the Steam Web API app-details endpoint for ACE COMBAT 8, the publisher's own Steam announcements, and the Steam achievements API. Requirement figures, the DRM notice and the difficulty descriptions are quoted from official sources rather than paraphrased. Where a detail comes from a third-party wiki or from a player post rather than from Bandai Namco Entertainment, it is labelled as exactly that. Anything the publisher has not stated is written as unconfirmed rather than guessed.

Not independently play-tested. This is not a claim that every platform or game version was tested. Source review: Oct 15, 2026.